Skip to content

Against gay marriage, but not intolerant?

May 14, 2011

Previously posted to my other blog – I’m just consolidating.

Earlier tonight, 9 May, a professional hockey player agent tweeted this regarding Sean Avery’s ad supporting same-sex marriage – @uptownhockey – Very sad to read Sean Avery’s misguided support of same-gender “marriage”. Legal or not, it will always be wrong.

For those of you who don`t follow hockey, Sean Avery is a controversial player for the New York Rangers. I was pleasantly surprised to view his ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGGH3M9NKBI&feature=player_embedded) supporting same-sex marriage. For the most part I dislike Mr. Avery`s conduct on and off the ice, but this I found admirable.

Til this day, I had never heard of Uptown Sports and now wish I never had. The previously mentioned tweet was promptly followed by a firestorm of protest. Todd Reynolds, VP of Uptown Sports, and player agent for several NHL players admitted he had delivered the offending tweet and offered to ‘defend’ himself (I use the quotes in the same manner as Mr. Reynolds did in his tweet) on TSN Radio. (http://www.tsn.ca/radio/) Sorry, can’t seem to link directly to the interview, but it’s under Cybulski & Company: Todd Reynolds.

Sporting world aside, I find this tweet offensive as did many respondents to his comment. According to his interview, he respects morality – does that make homosexuals immoral? In response to the twitterverse, Reynolds states that not only did he create the tweet, but he fully stood by it as his personal viewpoint on the issue. He repeatedly states that he does not hate anyone, nor is he a bigot as accused.

Additionally, he mentions that 10 or 20 years ago, his viewpoint would not have garnered the response it is getting now. I think this means he doesn’t realize what the word PROGRESS means. Just because it was ok to state that certain members of the population did not deserve to receive the same rights and privileges as others 20 years ago, does not make it right now. Nor does it stop it from being discriminatory. You can say that you have the right to your own opinion all you want, just don’t expect me to agree with it, nor recognize the comment for what it is: discriminatory.

The fact is, that when asked about what possible damage a same-sex marriage could do to his precious ‘sanctity of marriage’, he dodged the question and said he knew there were other solutions (not offering any of his own) and that others with better backgrounds and knowledge would be better served answering the question. Sir, if you cannot or do not wish to, back up your opinion with anything more than – ‘there are experts out there that know the solutions,’ then please refrain from making such broad statements.

For those who are supporting Mr. Reynold’s right to free speech and condemning the protesters as ‘haters of Christianity’, it is a different situation when you are the slow-growing minority voice as he states, yes? I do not hate Christianity. I do not like to be told that by pure existence, my friends, family and I are immoral. That we do not have the right to all those perquisites that heterosexual have available to them. That any of our marriages are “wrong.”That to me is hateful.

So support your own vision of ‘sanctity of marriage’ all you want. Just don’t push it on me. It smacks of ‘I’m all for equality if I’m more equal than you.’

Edit – Mr. Reynold’s Twitter response:

“To clarify. This is not hatred or bigotry towards gays. It is not intolerance in any way shape or form. I believe we are all equal,” a later posting said, followed with, “But I believe in the sanctity of marriage between one man and one woman. This is my personal viewpoint. I do not hate anyone.”

He may not hate anyone, but I still don’t see how this is not intolerant. My personal viewpoint.

Addition: Fallout / Response

Rogers Sportsnet Reporter fired for Tweeted Response

Adam Proteau’s Blog Response

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

