Skip to content

Victoria Day Weekend or Planting Long Weekend

May 22, 2013

As I work on my gardening skills, I glean tidbits from almost everywhere.  Am I really the only novice Canadian/Ontarian/ gardener that did not know that spring planting is typically performed on the May long weekend?  Apparently this is an “everybody knows that!” sort of thing.  I’ve obviously been too busy enjoying the bevvies etc.

So, when everyone was kind of surprised I wanted to get started in late April/early May, I guess I really was being uber impatient. Duly noted.

Another well-known fact – even if the internets say its easy to do and it really looks easy to do… its never as easy as it appears.   Part of the prep for installing my new raised bed was to clear the area of the yard that I’d determined was the most suitable planting site.  Unfortunately, part of this ‘suitable location’ was covered in a well-established bed of day lilies, while the another part was invaded by the remains of a sumac. A little digging, right? Not so much.

Humidity and high sun aside?  Neither of those particular plants are particularly deep-rooted, but once established, are a real pain to remove. In fact, I’ve been removing runners from the sumac for the past two years. I only started on the lilies on the weekend, but it was a lot of work. The end result – I still haven’t put my raised bed in – it remains semi-built in the basement, waiting for the day I get the location fully prepared.

While the raised bed is still waiting for life, I added basil and thyme to our herb garden, which along with the onions and garlic continue to flourish – or are at least managing to establish themselves. I even had a colleague at work actually come to me for advice regarding the growing of garlic, despite the fact that this is my first attempt at growing it.  Maybe there is some hope for this novice gardener after all.

Garlic in May!

And one last note courtesy of the Nature Conservancy of Canada:

As previously mentioned, I was recently educated regarding garlic mustard. While it is now generally considered an invasive, it was brought by Europeans to North America to be eaten as a salad green. Here is a recipe for a garlic mustard pesto!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

